It’s been a while since I wrote about a dream, but it’s not because I haven’t been having any.  I guess I’ve been having a creative block, or rather, a motivation block.  The weather and the time change make me want to crawl into a fleece-lined hole with a bottle of Pinot Noir, some artisan chocolates and a thick, scary, intense horror novel.  Retreat into the depths of my tattered soul.  …oh whatthefuck am I talking about, geez.  Anyway, I was supposed to be writing about last night’s dream, wasn’t I?

So last night I dreamt that Brian and I were outside in a wooded area, standing on a gravel and dirt road with three men (whom I don’t know IRL).  Brian and I had a bomb.  It was small, only about the size of a softball, but it was a nuclear warhead, apparently.  He and I were intent on pulling the ‘ol switcheroo with our accompaniments and make them think we had the bomb when really we’d plant it with them.  I had a duffel bag with me, and I was motioning as to place the bomb in the bag, when really I was going to slip it to Brian who was going to leave it in one of the guy’s car.  I guess they were onto us because they made us split up.  The head guy (somehow I knew he was the head honcho, he was the one giving orders) made Brian go with him and sent me with the other two men.  Brian and I exchanged worried glances and off we went on our separate ways.  Brian still had the bomb.  So I’m driving down a suburban road, in the passenger seat of this huge old car (one guy was driving and the 3rd guy was in the back).  The car was something out of a Dolomite movie; a big tank of a thing, like a 1972 Pontiac Bonneville.  We were heading down the street and suddenly I see a shockwave coming in the distance and I knew the bomb had gone off.  I braced myself for the impact, and the driver said “hold on”… then we felt the car rock back and forth as the wave passed over us.  The wind kicked up and debris flew around, and I saw birds dropping out of the sky… but we were OK.  No spontaneous incineration or anything.  After it passed I asked out loud if we were going to die, and the driver replied, “Yes, just not right now.  Maybe in a few hours”.  Then as I stared out through the car’s windshield I could see the huge metal hood start to buckle.  The driver said it was from the heat of the blast, everything outside was roasting… just not us.  We ended up parking in some old store within a strip mall that had been long closed and boarded up, but a single older woman still worked there… I don’t know exactly what business she was in, but she walked around the place and always looked very busy… and sorta crazy, too, like “not all there”… the cheese slipped off her cracker.  Anyway, I was inside and it was very dark with large pieces of machinery strewn about.  I kept trying to walk through to the other side but either couldn’t find the right door or would push against the wall or the closet door thinking it was an exit.  Very confusing.  And through it all I was expecting Brian to show up, like I was waiting for him there…

