Dear Lord, thank you for my two sons. Without them, I would not be able to handle my mother’s illness.  While having children makes this battle more difficult in some respects, they remain the one thing that can evoke a true joyful response in my heart these days.

I will be 32 years old in February, and every Christmas up until now has always involved my mother’s traditions.  Normally around this hour I would be preparing to go to her house for appetizers, gifts and then dinner.  Now I am preparing to visit her in the hospital.  Instead of showering and putting on my favorite perfume, I am washing my laundry in unscented detergent and making sure I don’t bring any aromas with me that might trigger her to be sick again. Please, doctors, please find something to help my Mom and the thousands of other people affected by cancer.

Merry Christmas, everyone.

